Monday, March 16, 2020

Ishmael Covenant Review




Konigsberg, Prussia
1794


"This time evil came riding on shafts of lightning, thunder its rapacious roar—torrents of pounding, cold rain hurtled out of the blackened sky for hours on end.


Yehuda pulled his fox-lined cape more tightly around his body, his left hand gripping it securely against his neck, his right hand throbbing in pain as his mule jerked against the reins with every bolt and bellow from the skies. 'Papa . . . please. We should seek shelter from this storm.'


The dark shape ahead of him, nearly obscured by the downpour, wrestled his mule to a stop on the narrow, muddy path through the tall pine forest. As Yehuda came alongside in the enveloping blackness of the storm, he didn’t like the look of his aged father—fiery determination in his eyes, yes, but a sallow, sunken exhaustion in his face."


My Thoughts: So begins the prologue of a book that is part political intrigue, part end times story, part thriller. Terry Brennan wrote a book that I just couldn't leave alone even though it was at times difficult for me to follow because of my lack of understanding about the Middle East. Actually, I felt that I was being educated as I read, because there was much information included about the countries and their history and relationships to each other. The problems of the Middle East run much deeper than I had imagined. 


Book Description

His marriage in tatters and his career ruined by lies, Diplomatic Security Service agent Brian Mullaney is at the end of his rope. Banished to Israel as punishment by his agency, he's assigned to guard a US ambassador and an insignificant box. Little does he know that this new job will propel him straight into a crisis of global proportions.

Inside the box is a messianic prophecy about the fate of the world. And a dark enemy known as The Turk and the forces of evil at his command are determined to destroy the box, the prophecy, and the Middle East as we know it. When Ambassador Cleveland gets in the way, his life and his daughter's life are threatened--and Mullaney must act fast.

Now agents of three ancient empires have launched covert operations to secure nuclear weapons, in direct defiance of the startling peace treaty Israel and its Arab neighbors have signed. And a traitor in the US State Department is leaking critical information to a foreign power. It's up to Mullaney--still struggling with his own broken future--to protect the embassy staff, thwart the clandestine conspiracies, and unmask a traitor--before the desert is turned into a radioactive wasteland.

Fans of Joel C. Rosenberg, Steven James, and Ted Dekker will relish the deadly whirlpool of international intrigue and end-times prophecy in Ishmael Covenant--and will eagerly await the rest of this new trilogy.


My Further Thoughts on the book:

  I was enthralled by the introduction. 
  I found the early chapters to be slow.
  I found that I... had... been... reading... slowly.... Until.. the.. first.. chase.. when. I started reading faster and faster and faster! Then I slowed down for awhile. Then I read faster again. I found this repeated on and off as I read. 
  There are a lot of political things going on throughout the book. I have to admit that some of it I didn't follow very well. But it was so well-written, I just kept reading. There is a lot of set up and introduction to a lot of characters in the beginning. That's why it was slow for me. Things moved quicker as I got farther into the book. 
  If you like political intrigue, last days books, or things about Iran, Iraq, Persia, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Palestine and Israel, as well as America's relationship with them, you will likely enjoy this book as well. 


About the Author

Terry Brennan is the award-winning author of The Sacred Cipher, The Brotherhood Conspiracy, and The Alepp Code, the three books in The Jerusalem Prophecies series. His new book, Ishmael Covenant is the first in his new series, Empires of Armageddon.

A Pulitzer Prize is one of the many awards Terry Brennan accumulated during his 22-year newspaper career. The Pottstown (PA) Mercury won a Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing for a two-year series of editorials published while Brennan was the newspaper’s Editor.

Starting out as a sportswriter in Philadelphia, Brennan became an Editor and Publisher for newspapers in Pennsylvania, Illinois, and New York and in 1988 moved to the corporate staff of Ingersoll Publications (400 newspapers in the U.S., Ireland and England) as Executive Editor of all U.S. newspaper titles.

In 1996, Brennan transitioned into the nonprofit sector, spending 12 years as VP Operations for The Bowery Mission and six years as Chief Administrative Officer for Care for the Homeless, NYC nonprofits that serve homeless people.

Terry and his wife, Andrea, live in Danbury, CT.

More on Brennan can be found at www.terrybrennanauthor.com.

Facebook (Terry Brennan)
Twitter (@terrbrennan1)




I received this book for free for review from Audra Jennings PR.



2 comments:

  1. Laura, thanks for the opportunity to enter your giveaway. This book sounds exciting. Looks like we will have plenty of time to read in near future.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Excited about the giveaway! Thanks! Awesome prize!
    Bridgette

    ReplyDelete


Thank you for praying for me! I have the best blog friends in the world! Yes! You!

I read all your comments and respond as I can right now.
Please make sure I have your email if you want me to respond or pray for you.

God bless you all! This life only works with Jesus. The next life is a continuation of this one—make sure you spend it with Jesus. Jesus is the only way to God the Father!

Your blog friend,
Laura Lane
2 Year Cancer Survivor